The Second Annual Malibu Invitational

Thu, Sep 25, 2008


Second Annual Malibu Invitational

The Second Annual Malibu Invitational Surf Contest will be held on September 27 – 28 at First Point at Surfrider Beach State Park in Malibu, CA. The Malibu Invitational is a benefit for 16 year-old Point Dume Surfer Lyon Herron. Lyon has been bravely battling Gardner’s Syndrome for the past 12 years. You can see Lyon’s story here.

The event is presented by Freedom Artists, Val Surf, Sicky Dicky, BrosList.com, Dukes Malibu, Malibu Magazine, and Chateau Ste Michelle Wine Estates.

The event is sponsored by DVS, Matix, Volcom, RVCA, Quiksilver, Hurley, Lost, DC, Vestal, O’neill, Fuel TV, Surfline, Ransenberg Financial and Insurance Services, ZJ’s Boarding House, Santa Monica Surf Shop, Becker, Momentum Surf Company, and Revolution Surf Shop.

There are three divisions at this year’s Invitational contest:

    Grom (15 and under)
    Malibu Legends

The event will also host a Celebrity Free Surf on September 28th (presented by Oceana)

Confirmed professional surfers for the event include:

Jesse Faen, Brendan Hearne, Micah Byrne, Dan Fowler,, Anthony Petruso, Alex Gray, Killian Garland, Nate Tyler, Spencer Regan, Strider Wasilewski, Quinn McCrystal, Chris Darrah, Dillon Perillo, Pascal Stansfield, Michael Schwimer, Chaz Chidester, Louis Tesoro, Reef McIntosh, Frank Tesoro, Ryan Simmons, Yves Bright, Cory Pierce, Colin Giles, Chris Brown, Justin Swartz, Josh Curran, Ted Navarro, Jordan Tappis, Chance Lawson, Michael Bailey, Shayne Nelson, Danny Fuller, Kalani Robb, Russell Smith, Jarrah Tutton, Alex Knost, Micah Pitts, Jesse Colombo, Kieran Horn, Warren Metcalfe, Danny Estes,Evan Mendelson, Noah Erickson, Ellis Erickson, Kamalei Alexander, Brad Gerlach and Chad Wells.

Confirmed Malibu Legends for the event include:

Allen Sarlo, Dale Rhodes, Lee Westfall, Dave White, Ricky Schaffer, Andy Lyon, Donald Day, Steven Lippman, Danny Klein, David Carter, Joey Jenkins, Donnie Wilson, Jay Riddle, Mike Marcellino, Mark Richards, John LaLane, Mike Lamm, Scott Daly, Bud Donatoni, Carlos Del Olmo, Tom Daniels, Sebastian Franklin, Tony Zapatta, John Baker, Christian Anderson, and Mitch Taylor.

Confirmed Groms for the event are:

Ashton Malkin, Riley Garrison, Curren Caples, Jonah Pierce, Taylor Curran, Hugh Brown, Dane McCrystal, Kelly Zaun, Colton Sarlo, Cooper McDonald, Jimbo Borland, Patrick Wetton, Barron Hilton, Kerns Chirchil, Skylar Lawson, Ben Holmes, Frankie Harrer, Shane Borland, and Thelen McKenna-Worrell.

Confirmed celebrity surfers include:
actor Simon Baker (The Devil Wears Prada), actor Carmine Giovinazzo (CSI: NY), actor John Savage (Carnivale), actor Jesse Metcalfe (Desperate Housewives), actress Tanna Frederick, actress Liza Richardson and professional surfer/model Veronica Kay Baker.

, , , ,

This post was written by:

- who has written 477 posts on Stomp and Flow.

Contact the author

Leave a Reply